Want high speed rail station in Selangor? Talk to us first, MB tells Putrajaya

KUALA LUMPUR, July 24 — Putrajaya must first discuss with the Selangor government before going ahead with a proposed station for the Kuala Lumpur-Singapore High Speed Rail (HSR) within the state, its Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Azmin Ali has said.

Responding to reports that Kampung Abu Bakar Baginda has been selected as the site for the HSR stop in the state, Azmin said no stations were to be built in Selangor according to initial talks between the state administration and relevant federal agencies and ministries.

“We were informed that over 30 kilometres of this track will be on the route through Selangor but no station would be built in this state.

“But we were instead made to understand that stations will be built at the route through Negri Sembilan and Malacca,” he was quoted saying by local daily Berita Harian (BH).

Azmin said the Selangor government could do with an HSR stop in the state, but the selection of Kampung Abu Bakar Baginda has to be reviewed as it involves various issues such as the impact on the village’s residents and landowners.

“Therefore, there must be discussions between the Federal Government and the state,” he added.

According to BH, Putrajaya Corporation president Datuk Seri Hasim Ismail had last Wednesday said that an HSR stop would be built within the area of the Malay-majority village in Bangi — which is categorised as a Malay Reserve Land and lies next to Putrajaya’s Precinct 14.

In the same BH report today, Sepang Municipal Council president Datuk Puasa Md Taib reportedly explained the Land Public Transport Commission has yet to approve the plans for the HSR stop.

He also said both the state and federal governments can develop Bumiputera land, but noted that compensation to landowners should be according to market rates.

On Tuesday, minister in the Prime Minister’s Department in charge of the Economic Planning Unit Datuk Abdul Rahman Dahlan said Malaysia is set on completing the HSR project within 10 years.

The 350km rail line, which will reduce travel time between the two countries to just 90 minutes with speeds of over 300km/hour, will have eight stations — Bandar Malaysia, Putrajaya, Seremban, Ayer Keroh, Muar, Batu Pahat, Iskandar Puteri and Singapore.